top of page
  • Meredith Evangelisti

Chicken Ragu

Updated: Feb 28, 2019


Normally people use a chicken carcass for soups and things like that. I decided to make this red sauce with what was left over from my crock pot chicken. I intentionally left a ton of meat on the bones so that this sauce would be extra meaty!


Here is what I used:

1 left over chicken carcass (see Crock Pot Chicken Recipe - I used everything left in the crock pot)

1 chopped onion

4 chopped stalks of celery

4 chopped carrots

1 T olive oil

2 26 oz cartons of strained tomatoes

salt to taste


Here is what I did:

Heated oil in a large stock pot. Added onion, celery and carrots and sauteed until soft.

Added both cartons of tomatoes and brought to a boil.

Added the carcass and all remaining veggies and such from the crock pot.

Cooked at a simmer for about 3 hours.

Removed bones and big pieces of meat that had fallen off the bones.

With a hand mixer pureed everything in the pot to a smooth consistency.

Removed chicken from the bones and cut into small pieces.

Added the chicken back into the sauce and stirred.

Poured over zoodles.




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page